Appalachian Regional Commission

Economic Development Agency

The Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) is a regional economic development agency that represents a partnership of federal, state, and local government. Established by an act of Congress in 1965, ARC is composed of the governors of the 13 Appalachian states and a federal co-chair, who is appointed by the president. 

Local participation is provided through multi-county local development districts. Each year ARC provides funding for several hundred investments in the Appalachian Region, in areas such as: 

  • Business development 
  • Community development
  • Education and job training
  • Housing
  • Infrastructure
  • Telecommunications
  • Transportation